tumblr

In a Painting Storm

Works in progress, deep thoughts about and parts of paintings by artist Kimberly Brooks.
All works are by the artist unless otherwise credited.
instgrm/twtr @artistkimberlyb

So excited to be back teaching at my summer painting workshop @andersonranchartscenter
Tue, Jul 18, 2017
The earth moved a little bit #oilpainting
Sat, Jul 15, 2017
Museum floor #oilpainting
Tue, Jul 11, 2017
Flowers of wax metal and glass #oilpainting #ceiling
Tue, Jul 11, 2017
Two blacks. The bottom ivory out of the tube. The top, burnt umber and ultramarine blue, a much richer option. Thins to a liquid ashy graphite. #oilpainting getting excited to teach @andersonranchartscenter next week !
Sun, Jul 09, 2017
I’m in a regal mood #oilpainting
Sun, Jul 09, 2017
Silver leaf #oilpainting
Fri, Jun 23, 2017
Today
Thu, Apr 13, 2017
Jesus’ Tomb #jerusalem #israel
Sun, Apr 09, 2017
green abstract #painting #oilpainting
Thu, Mar 23, 2017
Zooming out a bit #oilpainting
Thu, Mar 23, 2017
picnic #wetpaint #oilpainting
Thu, Mar 23, 2017
String theory #wetpaint
Thu, Mar 09, 2017
I’m showing these breasts because tomorrow I will be speaking and moderating a panel on Art and Feminism at the Ace Hotel, Saturday, February 18, 2017, at 2:30 PM. There will be lots of festivities before and after. I hope to see you there!
Sat, Feb 18, 2017
A post shared by kimberly brooks (@kimberlybrooksartist) on Dec 17, 2016 at 4:57pm PST Winter #sunset
Sun, Dec 18, 2016
Mmmm detail
Tue, Dec 13, 2016
underpainting
Thu, Dec 01, 2016
“surge of angels”, detail
Tue, Nov 29, 2016
cozy taffeta collage
Sat, Nov 26, 2016
I was feeling so down yesterday and then suddenly like a burst of sunshine @rebeccacampbellartczar surprised me by sending me an image of her exquisitely rendered portrait of me as a part of her series of women artists she knows in reaction to, as a woman artist, so often feeling invisible. I used to avoid women group shows so as not to be ghettoized or seen through the lens of gender. No longer. Thank you so much Rebecca for reminding me who I am in paint and holding a mirror to our collective strength. #imwithher
Fri, Nov 11, 2016

 View more on Tumblr >