tumblr

In a Painting Storm

Works in progress, deep thoughts about and parts of paintings by artist Kimberly Brooks.
All works are by the artist unless otherwise credited.
instgrm/twtr @artistkimberlyb

I’m showing these breasts because tomorrow I will be speaking and moderating a panel on Art and Feminism at the Ace Hotel, Saturday, February 18, 2017, at 2:30 PM. There will be lots of festivities before and after. I hope to see you there!
Sat, Feb 18, 2017
A post shared by kimberly brooks (@kimberlybrooksartist) on Dec 17, 2016 at 4:57pm PST Winter #sunset
Sun, Dec 18, 2016
Mmmm detail
Tue, Dec 13, 2016
underpainting
Thu, Dec 01, 2016
“surge of angels”, detail
Tue, Nov 29, 2016
cozy taffeta collage
Sat, Nov 26, 2016
I was feeling so down yesterday and then suddenly like a burst of sunshine @rebeccacampbellartczar surprised me by sending me an image of her exquisitely rendered portrait of me as a part of her series of women artists she knows in reaction to, as a woman artist, so often feeling invisible. I used to avoid women group shows so as not to be ghettoized or seen through the lens of gender. No longer. Thank you so much Rebecca for reminding me who I am in paint and holding a mirror to our collective strength. #imwithher
Fri, Nov 11, 2016
Collage,ink
Mon, Nov 07, 2016
This one’s has two titles: “I’m With Her” And “Screw the email witch hunt” #muchadoaboutnothing @hillaryclinton
Sun, Oct 30, 2016
reflection
Sun, Oct 30, 2016
Cave theory #detail #painting #day3
Fri, Sep 23, 2016
detail . . . . #wetpaint #painting #oilpainting
Fri, Aug 12, 2016
Angel detail #painting #wetpaint
Wed, Aug 03, 2016
Dock
Mon, Aug 01, 2016
waves
Sun, Jul 31, 2016
A post shared by kimberly brooks (@kimberlybrooksartist) on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:58am PDT Lake, abstract @interlochenarts
Sun, Jul 31, 2016
A post shared by kimberly brooks (@kimberlybrooksartist) on Jul 30, 2016 at 3:26pm PDT On the way to the cabin. I know you guys can’t get enough of these videos. @interlochenarts should make a soundtrack of people practicing because it’s the best thing to listen to in order to think
Sat, Jul 30, 2016
Reminds me of Technicolor Summer
Fri, Jul 29, 2016
A post shared by kimberly brooks (@kimberlybrooksartist) on Jul 29, 2016 at 12:53pm PDT @interlochenarts pieces of opera, concerti, sonatas everywhere
Fri, Jul 29, 2016
the debate (detail) #painting #oilpainting
Thu, Jul 28, 2016

 View more on Tumblr >